ABSTRACT

Mario Tanzil, 201412022. Analysis of the Effect of Executive Compensation, Background on Expertise of the Audit Committee, Independent Commissioner, Share Ownership Structure on Corporate Tax Avoidance with Control Variables in Company Size and Performance (Empirical Study on Manufacturing Companies listed on the Stock Exchange in 2014-2016). Supervised by Dr. MF Arrozi Adhikara, SE, M.Sc, Akt, CA.

This study aims to analyze the effect of board compensation, financial sophistication for audit committee, independence board of commisioner, majority shareholding, public shareholding, and board shareholding to tax avoidance measured by cash effective tax rate minus effective tax rate. Independent variables used in this study is total compensation that earned by board of directors and board of commissioners, financial sophistication for audit committee, independence board of commissioner, majority shareholding structure, public shareholding structure, and board shareholding structure while the dependent variable is taxavoidance. Several prior studies have showing various results. To obtain valid results, then performed test on each variables based on the hypothesis constructed.

The study population was 414 manufacturing companies that listed in Indonesia Stock Exchange during 2014-2016. The sample used were selected by purposive sampling method. After eliminating data with several criteria, 206 companies are identified as samples during observation period 2014-2016. Hypothesis testing is performed by using the Regression Analysis.

The result of this study showed that board shareholding structure and companies performance are consistent with hypothesis which has positively significant effect on tax avoidance. In the other hand, board compensation, financial sophistication for audit committee, independence board of commisioner, public shareholding structure and companies size are not consistent with hypothesis that has not significantly effect on tax avoidance.

Keywords: Compensation, financial sophistication, independence board of commissioner, shareholding structure.

viii

Universita Esa l